Working with Bozz: Another Chromebook Repair

in #adsactly6 years ago

Well, it finally happened. I knew eventually I would get a Chromebook with a broken screen in my office and I would be able to show you how easy it is to repair them.

This is usually what they look like when I get them. It is pretty obvious some major damage was done to this poor fella.

However sometimes, the damage is as simple as this. This is a 13" Toshiba Chromebook and we have about 64 of them in our district. Since we have so few of them, it is actually pretty rare that I need to repair this particular model.

If you look at the bottom corners of the screen bezel, just above the keyboard, you will see two small circles. Those are covers for the two small screws that this model has. Other models such as the 11" Dell don't have any screws to hold the screen bezel on.

I usually don't replace the screw covers when I am finished so if a Chromebook comes back across my desk I know if I have worked on it before or not.

Here is what the little holes look like with the screws removed.

I then use my handy dandy pry tool to pull the bezel away from the back part of the screen. For the most part, it pulls right away pretty easily, but you need to make sure you are careful so you don't break all of the little clips on the back side of the bezel.

Here is what it looks like with the bezel off. There are four very tiny screws (two on each side) that hold the display in place. Once those are removed the display should just flop down onto the keyboard.

It is still attached by this small connector though. Simply remove it and plug the new display in. Replace the screws on the side and then the bezel.

Here is what it looked like with the new display before I replaced the bezel. The whole repair took less than 15 minutes and after verifying that everything still worked, I returned it to the teacher.

How easy is that!

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif



Earn free crypto income with Mannabase

Sort:  

Eezy peezy when you have the tools and know what you are doing. Wish you were around these parts to fix my sons laptop. Do you run a repair shop then? I have seen other repairs, but wasn't 100 percent sure.

The Chromebooks are mostly for my main job as Technology Director. I do work on the side though for individuals and businesses.

Posted using Partiko Android

Dang! Nice work @bozz you make it look easy. Before I saw this, if my laptop was in this condition I would feel hopeless.....

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks!

Posted using Partiko Android

It's really neat that you can just do it by yourself, I wouldn't have the patience for it I think :P Nice job!

Thank you, it is definitely not my favorite thing to do but I am getting pretty comfortable with it.

Posted using Partiko Android

That is nice work Mr. Bozz. It makes a really nice tutorial too.

Just plain nicely done.

Thanks, I appreciate it!

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi, @bozz!

You just got a 3.2% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

That was a pretty easy job, or you made it look very easy :)

Thank you!

Posted using Partiko Android

Most welcome

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 434 (03/20/19)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66297.29
ETH 2682.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87