The Adelaide Podcast Festival 2019

in #adelpodfest5 years ago (edited)

Adelaide Podcast Festival Logo.jpg
Image source

The city of Adelaide is currently on the verge of what is locally known as

'March Madness!'

Towards the end of February and throughout March are two major tourist-focused events known as the Adelaide Fringe Festival and the Superloop 500 (formerly the Clipsal 500 V8 Supercar Race). The city is crammed packed with tourists, and various spectacles. Musicians, comedians, acrobats and performers of all kinds descend on the city and what is often seen as a sleepy town becomes... alive.

It's also a time when local people tend to flee the CBD or Central Business District because of the noise from the cars, the cheers, concerts and fireworks can be a little overwhelming. Not to mention traffic comes a to standstill.

As I am a local, you can imagine that I want to avoid the city as much as possible during this time for the same reasons.
There are, of course, exceptions. One of those being an upcoming Steem get together this week, and the other is the

Adelaide Podcast Festival


As a few of you may know, I produce my own relaxation-based self-help podcast called 'Easy Like A Sunday Morn'.
It's available on most podcast apps, spotify and even here on dsound. Feel free to take a listen, I could do with the download numbers.

Anyway, I decided to scrape together the money necessary and pluck up the courage to order a ticket to the event at the Elephant British Pub and head on in.

Initially, it was fairly quiet and I sat by myself with a complimentary drink taking writing down a list of the supported podcasts. Before long I saw Mark Aisten from The Mental Heath podcast start networking about his podcast and then come over to me and we started talking. I really need to network more at these things.

I also had a lengthy chat with Adam Little from the 'Precision Shooters Podcast' about all things rifle and gun ownership. You can easily get very OCD with the intricacies of this particular sport as there is so much detail and so much depth to it.

Soon it was time for the festival to start and they were set up to broadcast the podcasts live on the radio and if you brought the right equipment, you could have your podcast segment recorded. There were photographers and videographers there to record the proceedings, and you could get your photo taken for their promotional material if you were a podcaster.

The ladies from the 'Oh, Now I'm Hungry' podcast made these strawberry balls (think chocolate snowballs but mixed with Cherry Ripe) which were incredible, and for some reason beetroot on a toothpick for everyone to try.

Then we were treated to a preview of a fringe show called '2 Cats On A Hot Fringe Roof', by Steve Davis of the Adelaide Show podcast, which also stars Ralf Hadzic, the guy who played children's television favourite 'Fat Cat' for 17 years.
Steve does a hilarious impersonation of Mr. Squiggle, and there are only 3 shows left this week.

Steve wants me to do a comedy course this year, and while I am reluctant to admit how scared I am of public speaking, I do actually want to start doing something like this when I can get the money together.

Finally, beecause I stayed for most of the night, I not only won a packet of "Mystery Flavour" Pringles (I thought it was a joke, to be honest) from the team of The Show and I was given a few free drink vouchers too by the event organisers.
It was a great night and I look forward to attending the event next year, however not as an audience member, but as a sponsored guest.

The presenters were, in no particular order:

The Mental Health Show.jpg
The Mental Heath Show

City Of Music.jpg
City Of Music

Don't Be Blase'.jpg
Don't Be Blase'

That Wall Street Guy.jpg
That Wall Street Guy

Writers Read To Litracey.jpg
Writer's Read To LiTracey

oh now im hungry.jpg
Oh, Now I'm Hungry!

Strategikon Podcast.jpg
Strategikon Podcast

The Adelaide Show podcast.jpg
The Adelaide Show

Precision Shooting.jpg
Precision Shooting Podcast

The Show.jpg
The Show

The Attitude Consultant.jpg
The Attitude Consultant

Be The Drop.jpg
Be The Drop

Please subscribe to their podcasts and give them a listen.

#adlpodfest #podcasts #adelaide

Sort:  

Sounds great . Adelaide lost the F1 though, a few years back now. Sorry I’m a F1 fan I had to had that in.
You sound like you had fun at the podcast event . Can’t wait to see your post next year when you are a sponsored guest, may even have to make a trip down to Adelaide.
Thanks for sharing,
Have an awesome day!

Posted using Partiko iOS

We lost the F1 but replaced it with the V8 Supercars instead. The podcast event was great. I was going to have a blurb in-between each podcast photo explaining a bit about each one, but I felt the article would have been too long. Maybe I'm wrong and people want longer articles? I don't know.

Here's hoping they not only recognise my talents but my own skills improve enough that I am worthy of the event itself. I have a year to "get gud".

Believe to achieve my friend . I’m sure you will make it.
I like short to the point articles if I’m looking to learn something, but long ones if I’m reading something like this post.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks for the feedback. Good to know.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Shaidon from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70884.24
ETH 3570.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76