How much are you drinking? The 7 Day Challenge! Dry January Day #17:

in #addiction6 years ago (edited)

7 Day Challenge.png

I'm inviting you this Dry January to record how much you drink for the next 7 days. I want you to be brutally honest, no sugar coating, and record it.

Find some way to journal and record each shot, beer and glass of wine. What we're going to do is a little experiment to help you understand exactly how much is going into your body and the financial impacts. But, we need 7 days of data.

I know this is a "real action" kind of post where you're going to have actually be a participant who is actively involved. I do hope that some people take me up on the challenge and report back their behaviour. I think that we can use the Steemit platform to help people who need it the most.

Also - if you are already sober please don't start for this challenge. Instead - try and give us some info on how much you used to drink. It can help garner some data and helpful info for others.


Did you know?

According to a landmark research out of Harvard the answer, at least for men, is a resounding yes1. In a longitudinal study that covered everything from scrotum size (yes really) to alcohol levels throughout life, Harvard professors and researchers found out that alcohol contributed in extremely negative ways to overall life happiness. The study which started in 1938 and covered 238 students for approximately 75 years discovered many things about happiness and what it means to be so.


So, who's up for the challenge?

Sort:  

I used to drink somewhere around 80 drinks a week before I stopped drinking alcohol.

That's a lot for sure - how did you get sober?

For me it was when I started to paint, I found a passion that was stronger than the desire to drink. Art was the reason I got sober, joining a recovery group was what gave me the how to stay sober part. One day at a time. :)

That's really excellent that you were able to find that passion - do you mind sharing what led you down that path to begin with? Or the main action/thing? If not I totally understand.

I developed my style of art doodling on post it notes while I worked in high pressure call center sales jobs for almost 17 years. When the company I'd been working for for almost 10 years closed suddenly, I was left without a job, and with more free time than I was used to, so I decided to try painting my doodles on canvas - and fell in love with painting!

I love seeing you turn what could have been something so monumentally bad into something so positive in your life.

It was about 6 months after I started to paint that I got sober. I couldn;t paint well drunk, and didn't feel like painting hungover, so, the drinking had to go! lol

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by liverehab from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02