The Greatest Man Alive... My Father "Acts of Kindness Challenge" Entry #5


(My dad and I at the local drag strip)

When it comes to random acts of kindness and generosity, I honestly think it's going to be pretty tough for anyone to beat my father! Sure, my father has flaws just like I do and everyone else in the world. But this man has so many great qualities, he is the reason for me being who I am today.

(My mom and dad celebrating something, sorry I can't remember)

He was born in the 1950's, back when times were extremely different from today. He was raised by my grandfather which was a mean man and also my grandmother, both which I never got the privilege to see or meet. My grandmother died in her 40's right before I was born. My grandfather (On my fathers side.) died about 10 years ago, I think. It's a complicated story but to sum it up, My dad and his mother were beaten by my grandfather. He was an ex-marine and dealt with an iron fist and was extremely strict. When the time was right, my grandmother left him and took my dad with her. I think my dad may have been around 13 at the time.

(I took this picture when my mother graduated college. I was very proud! My dad gave her a single rose.)

After several years had passed, my dad tried to reconcile with him. He even named me after him, wrote him a letter with my baby picture included and asked if he would like to meet his grandson. My grandfather never replied and never wanted to have anything to do with his son or me. The reason I'm implementing this in to my story is to paint you a picture of what kind of life my father had as a child, it wasn't the best of childhoods to say the least.

(Here is a photo of my dad and I at a classic car auction)

Despite not having a father growing up after the incident, my dad grew up to be an outstanding man! Although I never got to meet my grandmother, I've heard enough about her to know that she deserves credit for the way he turned out. He has a work ethic that you just don't find in people these days. He is an extremely hard worker and is still working a full time job while in his 60's. Hell, he's in better shape than I am. He's the type of man that will ignore pain and illness just so he doesn't have to miss work.

(Celebrating my moms birthday)

My dad has helped me throughout my entire life. He has been there for me through thick and thin, no matter what. I could call him right now and ask him to dig a ditch for me (Which I would never do.) and he would be on his way with a shovel. My dad has taught me how important family is and once they're gone... they're gone, so you better spend as much time with them as you can.

(Celebrating Mother's Day. That's my sister with my dad.)

I could go on and on about all the things my dad has done all his life that deserves to be recognized but he recently done something that inspired me to share it with you guys. He is a supervisor for a company and has about 15 employees that he is responsible for. He would be a dream supervisor to work for, he actually cares about each and every one of his employees personally. Well, he has a female employee that is a single mother and is barley able to make ends meet. She's a hard working and dedicated employee that is literally struggling to get by.

(My dads birthday cake)

Well, one day my dad was walking through the parking lot at work and happened to notice this particular employee's car. What stood out to him was the tires, they had cloth and wires showing! In case anyone reading this doesn't know what that means, it means that the tires are way overdue to be replaced. At that point, it is extremely dangerous to travel any distance at any speed on them.

My dad asked her about the tires and if she knew that they were in that bad of shape. She told him that she was aware of how bad they were but couldn't afford to have them replaced. Knowing her situation, my dad asked her if he could move her car from where it was parked because maintenance was going to repaint the parking spot lines (Just a small fib :) and her car was in the way. She gave him the keys and he took her car to the local tire shop and had a new set of Goodyear tires put on and also had the front end lined up.

Dad never said anything when he returned with her keys. "He loves to surprise people :)" At quitting time, the shifts were changing and the lady went out to her car. My dad has to stay in his office for a while after shift change to do paperwork. The lady comes in to dad's office with a shocked and confused look on her face and asked about the tires. My dad simply told her that he couldn't in good conscience not do anything, knowing that she needed new tires but couldn't afford them. They lady had a tear in her eye and said that she would pay him back as soon as she could but didn't know how long it would take. My dad told her that he would not take her money for anything and that the tires were a gift. The lady broke down crying and asked if she could hug my father. She said that was the nicest thing anyone has ever done for her in her entire life. My dad is my hero!

Sort:  

:) your father is really an outstanding person....i love him tooo.....family is really
the most important thing in life which everyone she know and appreciate.....thank you sooo much for the post...for sharing your father's childhood life........i loved reading it

You're exactly right, family is the most important thing! Thank you for reading and taking the time to comment!

Your dad is on of those heroes that are restoring the faith in humanity. I just love those kind of people, the benevolent and pure hearted people. Beautiful story...good read.

Thank you for taking the time to read and comment!

This is really a heartwarming story and it sounds like your father touches those around him in a really positive way. Thanks @bluelightbandit for another good one!

Thank you so much for taking the time to read and comment! My dad is truly as good as they come. The bad part about him being so generous is often people will take advantage of his good nature and that's really disappointing. I enjoyed your post on intuition by the way, it was extremely well written!

Thanks, I'm glad to hear you liked my post!
Regarding the kind being taken advantage of, I've thought a lot about this over the years and have come to think that within reason, this isn't a problem. May sound strange but as a person who gives a lot and have been taken advantage of, when this happens I'll feel my hurt about it and then realize that I don't mind the giving after all. Maybe they didn't go about it in the best way, but usually it's ok. There are limits however - like having things stolen or being deceived and tricked are different to me at least.
My thoughts on this are in process so they may change but for now that's where they land.

I see and understand what you're saying. Although when I was referring to my father being taken advantage of, it was in reference to him being stolen from by people which he considered to be friends at the time. You are a very profound person :)

This is a fantastic story!!! I hope to be able to meet you and your parents some day @bluelightbandit.
Good people doing good things for others with no strings attached. I LOVE this!

Thank you so much for your continued support, @rebeccaryan! It would be fantastic to be able to meet you in person as well! I've always wanted to visit Canada one day, so who knows! Sorry for the delayed response as well; I've been in a funk here lately and my sleep pattern is all out of wack. I've been in the bed all day today and as I type this, I can barely keep my eyes open. It appears that I jinxed the chat also because it's glitching again! I saw where you sent me two messages earlier so maybe I can read them one day soon. Do you think that it would be more efficient to just email each other? I don't mind giving you my email address and if you want to, I will post mine so you don't have to post yours and then I will delete the message after I know you have it. Ya never know, someone might want to track me down and take advantage of my hot body. Because ya know I look like Channing Tatum and I'm Oprah rich! Oh wait, I've already posted pictures of myself on here haven't I? Okay, so maybe I exaggerated a tiny bit in that sentence ;) But I would also totally understand if you did not feel comfortable communicating like that, so no pressure. I'm just getting really frustrated with the chat bugs!

Anyway, I don't know if I want to go back to bed or start on my next post that I have in mind, decisions, decisions. But again, I sincerely do appreciate everything that you have done for me. Even if any of the advice that I try that you provided me does absolutely nothing, just knowing that you cared enough to try and help means everything! You are a special person! I hope you have a great day...or night, which ever it is when you read this lol.

I'm going to give you my contact info in chat...that way you'll have it. It doesn't matter to me which method we use just as long as I can get you the info that you'll need as you require it. If/when you decide to give changing your eating lifestyle a try, we will do it in stages. It's like running a marathon...there's training first, before the big run...so that you don't injury yourself unnecessarily...same thing here.

lovely post bud, i lost my dad as a young boy he was only 24 when he died so at 29 im much older than he ever was, which is strange. we just gotta make the most of all the time we get with the people we love :)

I really appreciate you taking the time to read and comment, Owen. I'm also sorry about your father. We all just have one life to live here on earth so no one should take that for granted. Thanks again!

Touching story @bluelightbandit! Glad to know your dad grew up in the time when there were plenty more gentlemen out there! Seems like he raised you right!

Thank you so much for taking the time to read it! Yes, times were definitely different then, much different! We have progressed tremendously with technology but unfortunately I feel we as a society have fallen behind in a few key areas. Thank you again!

Aw, what a great tribute to your wonderful Dad! Tell him that he is MY hero too! Good to know that there are men like him still out there in this crazy world we live in today. Thanks for sharing this beautiful story! :)

Thank you so much for taking the time to read and comment on it! And I will definitely tell him about your compliment. I am truly blessed to have him in my life! Thank you again!

This post has received a 7.08 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @bluelightbandit.

Congratulations @bluelightbandit! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This post has received a Bellyrub and 6.07 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to: @bluelightbandit. Send SBD to @bellyrub with a post link in the memo field to bid on the next vote, every 2.4 hours. Be sure to vote for my Pops, @zeartul, as Steem Witness Hope you enjoyed your bellyrub!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63900.26
ETH 3063.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.21