Path of Exile noob :(

in #actifit5 years ago (edited)

Capture1.JPG

I wasn't going to go for a run today, but due to the above download taking forever, I went for a 10 km jog to wait it out. I've been struggling to run more than 5 km the last few days, so thanks Path of Exile (PoE) for making me run! I am sorry I mentally cursed the game as a PoS for making me download 15 GB while I was actually on my jog.

Anyway, I told @mattclarke I was going to trial this game on his recommendation, since playing an action RPG was on my list of things to do for 2018. With 2 days left in the year, I figured I should try to meet this goal. I'd actually wanted to play 'Zoo Tycoon', a happy game I played years ago... I was in the mood to build and run a zoo, but I googled and it was expensive and too hard to figure out how to get a copy and install the game. It was simply easier and cost me nothing to navigate to https://www.pathofexile.com to create a new account, and from there, download the game.

Previously, almost 2 years ago, I'd played a Dungeons and Dragons campaign online with some guys as part of my novel research, and playing an action RPG was the last list item on my checklist in my research in game mechanics and gamer geekdom. I'd been putting it off since I'm not a gamer, and like watching a movie, I would get restless sitting on my backside for so long. But I'd loosely based my novel on Diablo of some version I struggle to remember, because I played it almost 2 decades ago. And to be honest, I could not remember much about it. I have a younger ex-game addict brother I could consult. He once admitted to me he was so addicted, he didn't leave the house for so long, he developed a strange skin condition...But I felt for authenticity's sake, I should at least play a game.

After much anticipation, not, I was surprised the game loaded. I just had it in the back of my mind that this was going to be one technical glitch after another, and that after downloading 15 Gb, my machine wouldn't be up to spec and nothing would work. But surprisingly, it was went smoothly from then onwards.

The only obstacle in starting the game was coming up with a Character name! After much frustration when all the names I wanted for my Witch-wannabe-Necromancer were taken, I finally settled on a name I knew would not be taken. I settled for my new and very appealing discord name:

CrankyOldWoman

Great character name huh? Guess no one else thought so...

I have to admit, the game was much better than I expected. I was quite absorbed in my 'short test run', which extended longer than it should. I had to keep the study door closed, so the kiddies could not see what mum was doing. Dad was settling them in for bedtime. Although, when I died for like the third time and jumped off to give my daughters a kiss goodnight, Violet said:
"I could hear you playing a gross game, mum. I could hear uuuuuggghhhhh, urrrrrrghhhhh!"

She was imitating all the undead moaning as they were brutally mutilated, decapitated and bodies chopped in halves...

Capture2.JPG

Jade said, "Maybe you need to find another game to play..."

Hmmmm....

ANYWAY, I have no idea what I’m doing. I don't understand the currency/trading system or the skills gems, support gems or gems in general. Like why am I only picking up blue gems when there are other coloured gem slots? I'd like to use another weapon other than my shabby wand. I certainly do not understand that massive skill tree. As far as I am concerned, I just need a path to Necromancer. So more googling later.

I complained on discord that all I wanted to do was raise a skeleton minion to help me bash the zombies and crabs monsters. When I started the game there were quite a few corpse lying about, but when I really needed one, there was none about! Or maybe I wasn't paying attention. It's a shadowy world after all. I'm also not sure how I would raise a dead minion, only that I have a gem that apparently allows me to do so.

So, I'm going to spend a little more time playing this game. No doubt, I'd be tense and sweating, and clicking like mad trying to butcher everything that moves. The key is to remember to drink my life potions in time when it's stacks on!

This game is quite stressful. I don’t remember the old versions of Diablo being this complicated. I thought the learning curve of steem was steep for a noob, but it’s nothing compared to PoE...


13244
Aerobics

Sort:  

Smashing it. @ratticus, we have liftoff :)
Welcome aboard, crankyoldwoman. Looking up builds online is more advanced; as most of them don't just require certain nodes on the passive skill tree, they also need you to have particular rare items, assuming you'll buy them on the internal market; which is a whole other learning curve.
I just spend 5 mins reading up on the nodes on the tree and working out where I want to head and which ones I want to hit on the way. Necromancy is an excellent choice, btw.
When you have 3 or 4 summoned buddies the bad guys have a lot more targets to choose from, dilutes their attack.
You'll do great; I look forward to seeing progress reports, and maybe even an entry in the next race :)

It's 6.13 AM here, my fingers are numb and I've played all night....My husband came into the study about an hour ago to check in on me....omg, my brains hurt. The pile of blue mush below feels like my brain atm.

Capture5 (2).JPG

I expect to be in the next race...You're evil, this game is addictive. I didn't check out no skill tree path, I just wanted to play. I'll figure it out some more soon. I'm still not getting the gem up-skilling thing.

So tired...

Magnificent. Love it. That's something to be proud of. Speaks very highly about who you are as a person. That's some excellent progress, too. Getting close to Merveil now.

I have no idea who Merveil is. I have lost track of my growing quest list! I’m just going to and from town to trade my garbage for scrolls and stuff! I’m trying to spec up but I feel like a hoarder. I’m not dying anymore, so that’s an improvement.

Strategy Guide: Step 1. Don't die so much.

Geez, busy is a pain and always causes me to press the wrong buttons. Sorry about the flag if you were alerted.

Yes, I learnt that strategy. I realized it would be wise to run away to give myself a chance to either recharge on life as the potion won’t always keep up with damage, or find a better position to fight where you don’t get yourself surrounded! So on realizing that, and some levelling and upgrades = no more deaths for a while...I need to work on getting my resistances up though.

I like to find elemental resistances on the passive skill tree; lets me switch out my gear without worrying about being suddenly vulnerable to fire, for example. Chaos damage is its own beast though; and bypasses your white energy shield to hit your health directly. If you find some gear with chaos resistance, grab it and put it on.

Okay, Elemental resistance on the tree path it is. Chaos damage I’ll keep my eyes peeled for. I don’t remember seeing that so far.

Thanks for all the advice! ❤️

You are a great writer CrankyOldWoman ! I used to be a gamer myelf and it's a joy reading your experience testing it out. I played diablo 3 once myself also just to test it out what it was. It' was more fun than I expected even though I also did not really know what I was doing. I quie before getting too deep into it though.

Enjoy the end of the year !

If getting addicted is a concern, then definitely skip this one. It is so much fun though, and then there’s matt’s upcoming race in a couple of months, if you want to join in the fun. But I understand you’re working on you and may not want too much distractions. I’m going to keep a tight lid on this one myself. But I’m not a gamer addict. I’m one of those who plays until she is totally sick of it. I always run out of steam. Prior to kids, my husband and I would have the odd weekend where we stayed in and played games. So I do this in surges. I play hard for a bit, then take long breaks.

You have a great New Years too!

CrankyOldWoman!!! LOL that is hilarious.
Picking a new character name is always difficult at the start. I remember when I first played a game that required a name; I couldn't think of one. All I could think about was that I was hungry. So my character's name ended up being 'Imhungry' lol

POE! My partner tried that game and tried to get me to play as well. I've never tried it out. I saw some people playing on twitch and thought to myself; 'bloody hell; why do they have so many stuff in their inventory'

hahaha you got busted by your girls. They even suggested you play another game. They are worried mummy might turn to the dark side lol

Give PoE a go! You’re the real gamer chick. @mattclarke will have another PoE race around March, which he gives out nice prizes. I doubt I’d actually win, so it would be nice to have another woman participate. I’m also hoping @ryivhnn might, but she is reluctant about EVERYTHING —I hope you caught that ryi!!

There wasn’t any women in the last one, I would have tagged you if you were still active.

The game is very good. I noticed how from the very get go, it pulls you in. I’m just taking it in slowly, and trying to restrict myself to a few hours a day. If you don’t participate, I would think you could get your partner to join via your steem account but with his PoE account. :)
Yeah, I was showing my husband my character and he was also marveling over the inventory....but I need more space...

Already on the dark side, even without this game. ;)

lol

My partner hasn't played it ever since. He has the tendency to start many games and not continue them. Doubt he even remembers his password.

Oh great, then you can take it over and show him how it’s done. Just reset his password and give it a go. :)

hahaha I had a look at a beginners video and geez that skill tree.... when the guy zoomed out and i saw how big and complex it was... I was thinking; yea nah I'm definitely not going to play. Then he talked about some quest thing to unlock your skill stuff....... that was when I cut the video short. lol

Oh don’t be a baby! I need friends in this game. I’m telling you, I won’t be making many with my character name! People don’t respond as well to CrankyOldWoman.... lol

Just ignore the skill tree, I suspect it’s something that will be of more interest later on. Go to the site, download the game, create a character name: CrazyCatLady. 😂

😂 hahaha I bet that name has already been taken.

How about MadCatWoman?
BattyCatLady?
DissectorOfFlies?

Yes we all know I’m reluctant to everything 🤣

Seriously though I would lose literal months playing PoE, it’s exactly my kind of game. If I didn’t have that animation project it would be less of an issue 😆

Posted using Partiko iOS

Excuses, excuses...😛

Congratulations @linnyplant ! Your post received a small upvote from @ongame as incentive for sharing gaming content.
Want to know more about Ongame.io ? Join us now!

  • All Recent Games (More than 70k)
  • Live Stream & external sources
  • Review Games and get rewarded
  • And many more... !!!

Aww, not a gamer, but thanks anyway. :)

Congrats on providing Proof of Activity via your Actifit report!

You have accordingly been rewarded 57.25 AFIT tokens for your effort in reaching 13244 activity, as well as your user rank and report quality!
You also received an 5.75% upvote via @actifit account.
Actifit rewards and upvotes are based on your:

  • User rank: which depends on your delegated SP, accumulated AFIT tokens, rewarded post count and recent rewarded activity.
  • Post score: which depends on your activity count, post content, post upvotes, quality comments, moderator review and user rank.

To improve your user rank, delegate more, pile up more AFIT tokens, and post more.
To improve your post score, get to the max activity count, work on improving your post content, improve your user rank, engage with the community to get more upvotes and quality comments.

Actifit is now a Steem Witness. If you believe in our project, consider voting for us

rulersig2.jpg
Vote for Actifit as a Witness
Chat with us on discord | Visit our website
Download on playstore | Download on app store
FAQs | Text Tutorial | Video Tutorial

Your post was upvoted by the @archdruid gaming curation team in partnership with @curie to support spreading the rewards to great content. Join the Archdruid Gaming Community at https://discord.gg/6yD2Emr. Good Game, Well Played!

This is a nice surprise, must be the space pirate. :)
Still not a gamer, but I might drop in on the discord server when I have a moment. Thank you. ❤️

I looked at the game site. Nope. This would be a perfect addictive time killer for me, that's why I do not play this kind of games. Occasionally playing chess against the computer is time-consuming enough for me.

Oh wow! I did not think you’d be remotely interested in this post, Peter. You must give it a go!! Come on, this will be funny for me. I cannot imagine gentlemanly Peter bashing and slaughtering monsters on his PC. Lol

I was not expecting you to finally give it a try! I just played a few hours today. After you learn the game it becomes quite fun! Yes lots to learn but fun.

I wasn’t expecting myself to jump in so soon tbh. I just woke up that morning in the mood for a PC game. I have these moments, although it’s rarer now with kids. My game tastes steer more to city building, god mode stuff, like Tropico where I get to be a dictator, or Pharaoh where I get to build beautiful cities and watch them grow. But an action RPG was top of my list for a game experience, I just wanted to remind myself why it was so addictive but also for little details that might enrich my story. I wanted to relate to the characters I am trying to write. :)

I remember a reader on another site once complained to me about the lack of loot and an inventory in my story world. It got me all defensive as I tried to explain to him that my character has transported from a game world to another dimension, and in this new reality, he could not simply pick up all this loot and stuff them in some magical inventory from nowhere. I still won’t write in a stash or inventory, but at least, I can be a bit more sensitive and understand his dissatisfaction! Dammit, I need another page of slots for all the junk I pick up.

I woke up and was compelled to log in and play for an hour, so obviously it’s got its hooks into me. Despite all the whining, I know that it’ll be because there is a big learning curve that will keep me interested in the long run. I’m treating it as a side project that is actually a lot of fun.

Haha, that's why I don't play, I don't want to be up all night. Actifit, all is forgiven!

I know....so bad, staying up all night. I woke up midday and hubby smirked, saying, “I’m surprised you woke up so early...”

Definitely not regular mother activity....


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29