Frustrated? Try the F*ck that: An honest meditation or just go actifit :P

in #actifit6 years ago (edited)

Okay...you can blame my husband for the link. I again had nothing prepared for this post, I was just rushing to get my 10,000 actifit steps done before the midnight cut-off!

On a more serious note, friends have suggested meditation many times over the years, but I can’t bring myself to do it. It’s like how I struggle to sit still long enough to watch a movie. My mediation is done through running, and often I deliberately run very slow so my mind can relax. It’s more about rhythm than speed. As @dbooster once mentioned to me privately, it’s a moving meditation like aikido or tai chi. A quote that also struck a cord with me when I get into this meditative running zone is from a famous Japanese writer:

“I just run. I run in a void. Or maybe I should put it the other way: I run to acquire a void.”
—Haruki Murakami, What I Talk About When I Talk About Running



Give @actifit a go if the above mediation vid doesn’t work for you! ;)


10056
Elliptical,Walking

Sort:  

Love the meditation!!! hahaha

And I think we prefer moving meditations because our lifestyle is already so sedentary. Just living used to take a lot of physical energy. now, we drive places, buy bread instead of growing, grinding, kneading, making a fire to bake (wood chopping) you get the picture.
Our bodies are restless now and they need to be worked out before the mind can be calm...

Thank you for the thoughtful comment, Marianne. ❤️ I completely agree, so many things are available to us that actually encourages a sedentary lifestyle, and it’s that what makes me feel less than relaxed. So the switch in pace from movement is soothing.

That's some multitasking, working out and meditating at the same time :) The yoga classes I follow are very similar, it's so intensive that there is no room left to actually think about anything at all.

Hamburger, you appeared!! I am so burning through all my VP at the moment, I’m going to have to be quiet and rest for a couple of days to recharge. I’m glad I caught you though. I will give yoga a go one day.

Anyway, it’s actually not hard, it’s relaxing to run and zone out. I’ve gotten lost a few times and woken up from the trance having missed a turn. Lol

For us moderns active meditation seems to work much better than the classic way of staying still. For example when I am in the sea swimming and surfing and I enter inside a wave barrel, the mind stops totally and I can live only the moment present.

I'm relatively certain people in past ages also thought of themselves as "moderns" and that the younger crowd thought themselves too sophisticated for boring old sitting meditation. People never change. Having said that, finding mindfulness inside a wave is wonderful!

oh yes, I totally agree, the other day I read a comment from centuries ago where they complained that the youth of that time did not live life, they just kept reading books, now it's the smartphone.

I so enjoy seeing you appear and reading your thoughtful responses. <3
I’d like to agree, I’d like to think I’m very modern.

flipping hair smartly

I’ll never experience the meditative effects of being inside a barrel wave. I’ll leave that for you. Even though I love the ocean—looking at it, smelling it and splashing around it in— the idea of sharks and rip tides make it an unsuitable meditation location for a weak swimmer like me. I’d most likely be actively drowning rather than actively meditating in the deeper waters of the sea...lol

So sometimes a situation of risk or danger and feeling a little fear helps to stop the mind from spinning, you become more attentive to the "here and now", as long as it is not a paralyzing fear.

When bodysurfing is all a matter of practice, swimming training will make you feel safer, and of course, it will start in a calmer sea. And we do not have many sharks around here like in Australia. At least there was never news of an attack on humans.

As always, loved the way you reply. It has me thinking, Thanks, Pedro. ❤️

You're welcome, it's very cool to exchange ideas with you.

haha I love it. "fuck that" is as good a mantra as any to repeat as you meditate.

If only my meditation is so creative. I sometimes count numbers when I run. Hehe. Very boring! Happy to see you drop by. ❤️

Likewise here... walking calms and relaxes my mind. Since i'm really no runner, I prefer rythm and pace opposed to speed. As long as i get to jog here and there is ok for me. 😊

So lovely to see you drop by my blog! ❤️ As long as we’re moving, it’s all rythmic goodness.

Cracking up over here. This is called laughter mediation. Good stuff. ;)

YES to running being meditation. Singing is that for me, walking in the woods, walking by a beach, just being in nature. But meditation is good too. Thanks for the giggles. That was like an ab workout or something.

I’m glad you got some good laugh therapy out of it. We can never laugh enough. ❤️🤗
I’ve heard you singing and walking in the woods, very calming and lovely.

OG that was rich! This is my kinda meditation :P

Hello, @enginewitty! I’m glad you got some meditative value from the video. Should you decide to put it into practice, let me know how it goes! I’m sure being a witness has its moments. Also thank you for the burst of Alliance goodness. That was unexpected. :) ❤️

For sure hun, small token but surely deserved. Feel free to tag me when you or your hubby pop off with some comical genius. Should enter this in @comedyopenmic!

Posted using Partiko Android

I appreciate the supportive words. You can thank @katrina-ariel that you have another fan of your erotic poetry, I checked it out from one of her recent posts. So you’ve won me over and you have my witness vote. To reciprocate, feel free to tag me when you next write an erotic piece! I’d be very interested. ❤️ Hehehehe.

Oh snap, ok! I will do that😋 and many thanks for the vote of confidence. 🤗

Thank you Katrina🤗😎

Posted using Partiko Android

Congrats on providing Proof of Activity via your Actifit report!
You have accordingly been rewarded 52.125 AFIT tokens for your effort in reaching 10056 activity, as well as your user rank and report quality!
You also received an 5.03% upvote via @actifit account.
Actifit reward structure has changed recently, and the new rewards and upvotes are based on your:

  • User rank: which depends on your delegated SP, accumulated AFIT tokens, rewarded post count and recent rewarded activity.
  • Post score: which depends on your activity count, post content, post upvotes, quality comments, moderator review and user rank.
    To improve your user rank, delegate more, pile up more AFIT tokens, and post more.
    To improve your post score, get to the max activity count, work on improving your post content, improve your user rank, engage with the community to get more upvotes and quality comments.

rulersig2.jpg
Chat with us on discord | Visit our website
Download on playstore | Download on app store
FAQs | Text Tutorial | Video Tutorial

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63510.75
ETH 3065.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82