Birthday Month: Week one, let us remember the challenge. My Actifit Report Card: October 3 2018

in #actifit6 years ago (edited)


Image source

Have you been counting your steps?

Have you heard of Actifit, will you join me in a step challenge?

Setting out to walk five thousand steps a day was and wasn't as challenging as one would expect. There was so much love and support on my challenge post that the first week I decided to go on long walks to ensure the 5k goal was met. It was really encouraging and terrifying that you were all REALLY going to be holding me accountable for walking all those steps. Should I add a disclaimer or just be brutally honest?

The first week wasn't my best. Wait for the but that will explain, justify, and sound like an excuse.

The but...

Tracking your steps feels like they only count if they are accounted for, BUT What about all those other steps? Insert silly but witty joke here about, how all the unaccounted steps count too. More so, all those countless steps count towards what really matters, right?

Let me tell you, all the unaccounted for steps were left behind because I lack a step counting watch and left my phone behind one too many times. Remember that week my parents were traveling? Well, taking care of the house and chickens had a lot of steps involved.

Forgetting my phone seemed to happen every time.

Those steps count too.

The steps to and from the kitchen.
The steps to and from my backyard (where most of my steps are stepped), and to and from any and all random errands need to be done or items that needed to be grabbed. Items and errands that were always in another room.

Countless steps were stepped walking to and from, there and back, all without my phone to count them! Then there is the marathon of missed steps from my dance show in the shower. There is the step show when folding clothes and let us not forget the showdown that happens with dishes are being washed!

One can't be holding a phone during such activities. How do you kids keep track of these steps without a watch tracker device? I should ask for one for my birthday; that would be a great gift.

The unaccounted for...

There are roughly 300 hundred steps of daily activity missed and when I do make an effort it usually amounts to over 1000 steps. When I go to the gym twice to three times a week that is roughly three to four thousand steps. Unless it is a run row day, benchmark run day, or a heavy endurance day, then the steps are well over five thousand.

Monday nights is volleyball night.

Playing on sand accumulates roughly 2,000 to 4,000 steps for the entire 2 to 2.5 hours of play. Thus, at least three times a week there are steps missed because of volleyball and gym. Mind you, Sunday's numbers are accurate because Lord knows I walk to my car, to church, back to my car, and then home. I fully embrace this rest day.

Side note, I go to one of those group activity gyms called Orangetheory. It is similar to Crossfit with less heavy weights and more cardio with a treadmill and rower. I've tried keeping my phone on me to count steps and it was and is a pain!

All that to say, I wish the app had some sort of manual way to enter activities done to average steps. This way, I could enter my steps or at least average them for activates I cannot have my phone on me. What are your thoughts on that @actifit developers? I heard you are working on making it compatible with smartwatches, which would be a step in the right direction. See what I did there? I saw there was a plank challenge and I should have entered. At work, we started doing push up at 3 pm again and I've added a plank challenge. So far we have held it for over two minutes.

The counted for...

Remember when I said, I used to take long walks during my lunch break, I used to park in the furthest spot, and I used to make an effort to stretch when I spent all day at work, remember that? Well, I have done all that this past week plus some. Mind you, I need to stop being almost on time to work to make parking further away less of a sprint to the finish line.
Walking during lunch is a great mental break from staring at the screen, but boy is it a sweaty mission. I don't know if I smell the best in the afternoon, but I do know that freshly showered smell isn't so fresh after those afternoon walks.

Goals for next week...

Still shooting for the moon of 10k daily, but if we fail we land on a star, right? The goal is the same, 10/5k steps a day. How are you guys doing so far? Still number one? Did you know the app has a leadership board, how often are you at the top of the list? Did you know the more you step the more rewards you earn? Let's get to it!

Thanks for reading, upvoting, and commenting!

Happy Birthday-month to me!

Love always,



1718
Aerobics
Height
175 cm
Weight
84 kg
Body Fat
%
Waist
cm
Thighs
cm
Chest
cm

Sort:  

Happy birth month :)

I'm not much of a step counter. Hatching eggs on the other hand XD If for whatever reason you don't hit a target just remember those uncounted steps working silently in the shadows to make sure you're getting to where you need to go ;D

First off, happy bdayyy youuuu !!!

What are your thoughts on that @actifit developers? I heard you are working on making it compatible with smartwatches, which would be a step in the right direction

I love your feedback as always! The problem with allowing manual data entry is manipulation. I do not like how google fit allows that, defies the (or one) purpose.
Yes we are working on smartwatch integration :)
And yes fun pun :D

You are the best! Really enjoy the app; how do we edit or change the title before posting it?

We can share our upvote to each and other for our better reputation

Now there’s an idea. Thanks for upvote.

Looooool

My really slow broadband will not allow me use the app effectively but I try to average 10k steps a day.

Happy birthday in advance

Your post has been hand-picked by an Actifit moderator for Actifit reward as having great content.
Well done!
You've been accordingly rewarded 150 Actifit tokens, as well as an Actifit upvote.
rulersig2.jpg
Actifit..Rewarding Fitness Activity
Chat with us on discord | Visit our website
FAQs | Text Tutorial | Video Tutorial

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66269.58
ETH 3204.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.24