Runners What is Your Average Cadence? +my @actifit card

in #actifit6 years ago (edited)

20181019_133956.jpg
Today I learned a new thing from @ervin-lemark regarding ideal running cadence, which is 180SPM, or steps per minute. After 16 year of running, this is one thing I never really paid that much attention to.

In college cross country I learned to be careful about not running with an unnaturally long stride. Well, I learned it before that actually because I developed shin splints when my stride length was too long.

In regards to speed though, the fastest girl on the team (ran 17 min 5ks on cross country courses) took many shorter strides when I'd watch her run. From an anatomical standpoint, regardless of height we all have about the stride length.

I think this all boils down to a matter of efficiency. Thoughts?

Anyone else pay attention to their cadence? Obviously my cadence being higher for today's run shows I was working hard to maintain.

At least that's how it felt because as some of you know I am just getting back into the swing of things after last week's fiasco. Turns out my passing out seizures gave me whiplash and concussions. The whiplash has made me real stiff in the upper body though, which impacts arm swing and smooth running mechanics. I got it worked on in massage therapy today. Feels better!

All things considered I'm really thankful to be back. I'm glad my doctor cleared me. It's concerning they don't know what's causing it but more tests yet to run.

Alas, I'm rambling. Runners, post your average cadence..... for science. =)
Everyone else please drop a constructive comment, if you wish, I always love hearing from you.


7784
Running, Walking

20181019_115249.jpg

Sort:  

No need to be a masochist to run well... but a bit of pain could make you stronger. ;)
@amico

Resteemed by @runningproject

This animated GIF shows us “the truth": it looks like it's 180 SPS, right?

A barefoot hug from @amico!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I try to pay attention to that because my spm is too low. On a slow run I am around 160 or even less and when I do rapid workouts I am around 170.
Someone told me to run with a beat at 180 to improve myself. I don't know if it works though.

I'm frequently at the 166 spm mark, today i was just having a good day the weather was nice. I do think this is a somewhat debatable topic

Yeah probably. I'm currently reading the book "Born to Run" and it's really interesting to understand how we need to run. They say at one point that to learn how to run and do the right amount of steps per minute, you need to run barefoot. Because, without shoes, you can't do long strides (mainly because you can't do heel strike).
Here is the book if you want to check it out: https://amzn.to/2NQyaTC

With running its possible to run "normally" barefoot over grass only (very well manicured) lol. Ive heard of that book and do not own it, thanks for providing the link

I guess I've read it in the Born to run book first too. Then I tried it on myself with counting steps and it really felt better when I approached the 180 steps mark.

Of course, on slow and technical runs you run in the 160 - 170 range and there's nothing wrong with it.

I would say that 180 is the ideal cadence for tempo and efficient running on easy profiles and surfaces. Ideal cadence for ideal conditions :)

I see because i was also thinking about the more technical running and how it would apply. I'm too easily distracted to count my steps so kudoz to you; i just rely on my technology.

I do not know how Suunto Movescout value it...

My last training:

That seems really low, this was from a RUN right? Also it could be a normal variance for YOU so there's nothing wrong with that :)

Congrats on providing Proof of Activity via your Actifit report!
You have accordingly been rewarded 39.25 AFIT tokens for your effort in reaching 7784 activity, as well as your user rank and report quality!
You also received an 4.88% upvote via @actifit account.
Actifit reward structure has changed recently, and the new rewards and upvotes are based on your:

  • User rank: which depends on your delegated SP, accumulated AFIT tokens, rewarded post count and recent rewarded activity.
  • Post score: which depends on your activity count, post content, post upvotes, quality comments, moderator review and user rank.
    To improve your user rank, delegate more, pile up more AFIT tokens, and post more.
    To improve your post score, get to the max activity count, work on improving your post content, improve your user rank, engage with the community to get more upvotes and quality comments.

rulersig2.jpg
Chat with us on discord | Visit our website
Download on playstore | Download on app store
FAQs | Text Tutorial | Video Tutorial

My average cadence is 194spm. But my legs are really short, so you'd expect that ;-)
They are whirling just trying to keep up with people walking in front of me. hehe

Lol how tall are you? The girl i was talking about doing the 17 min 5ks was barely 5'
I'm 5'6" when fully stretched out lol

If the girl was barely 5 foot tall, then on a good day I might be able to look down at her. On any other day I'd be looking up at her hehehe

Lol, i just know i've always considered myself average female height at best and felt really tall next to her, she was Latina possibly shorter than 5', somewhere around there haha

On competition I had an average of 177spm
Usually I don reach 170spm in average.

I'm starting to feel this is really going to vary widely amongst runners but i could be wrong.

Hi @chelsea88, I'm @checky ! While checking the mentions made in this post I noticed that @ervin-lenmark doesn't exist on Steem. Did you mean to write @ervin-lemark ?

If you found this comment useful, consider upvoting it to help keep this bot running. You can see a list of all available commands by replying with !help.

Thx checky bot i misspelled it

This bot is really useful. Who would have thought that such bots exist 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

I know right? Lmao

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63966.64
ETH 3055.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87