You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: International Women in Engineering Day – #INWED17 + STEM Thoughts

in #academia7 years ago

Really nice post!

When I was still studying, I always felt that my expertise in management, business and marketing was a grade below the STEM subjects. After-all, what we learned relied heavily on managing people with the core skills to actually create the products that we would go on to market and sell.

Part of the problem for me as well as the general population of girls, is that the STEM subjects seemed so male dominated and there were many social stigmas of how a career in science or technology would be less advantageous to us. Couple that with the tendency for boys to come into contact with technology earlier, it was difficult for me to really assimilate much of the early education I received in Science.

Later on, the gap just seemed to grow and grow, the maths and science became harder and harder, seemingly growing further from my grasp that I abandoned those subjects altogether. A decision that I regret more and more every day.

On the bright side, I realise that it's never too late to spend some time self studying the topics that interest me and I still take a great interest in many science related topics (mostly popular science). I do hope that at the very least, I can gather enough knowledge to hold a decent conversation with the experts in these fields if or when I meet them and talk.

Anyway, thanks for the lovely post, and looking forward to more!

Sort:  

In any industry though, management, business and marketing majors earn better than those who got into STEM ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88