You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Open letter to @Ranchorelaxo and @Haejin.

in #abuse6 years ago (edited)

Agreed - social media experiment: this much it definitely is.

And you also bring up a good point about spotlights and replacing the whole business model.

Now we're getting somewhere.

And that's the thing. My first weekly reaction was like an alarm going off. I see a front page dominated by upvote bots and a "cryptocurrency" section (where I would probably be posting all the time) dominated by this guy playing the system as it is (literally almost all the time his posts constitute 3 of the top 6) and I say, what a joke.

Obviously I am already spending more time here than I planned on already. What I have found: several guys that should be making way more money than they are. Brains and work ethic.

My biggest problem is the bots. Not even the fact that they are doing what they are doing, but rather the fact that they are openly encouraged and able to accumulate massive hoards of power in such short periods of time. Its insane. So more of a big picture for me and a huge part of it is ethical.

I get your points re: making x here vs there, too. Google Adsense is a total screwjob (they take everything and leave scraps on the table). I built up my base to a point where I have better options (there are a number of ad networks that pay substantially more but refuse you if you only have x uniques / month - I'm on one of them), but newer bloggers do not. So in a way, you can make some direct comparisons here, minus the bots.

Sort:  

steemit is not only about the money, but mainly... There are many other several reasons that keeps people in this platform, and even with all the downsides and bots and spam abuse, it still much better than anything else out there... Of course there are changes to be made, but i honestly think you are just making a prejudgement based on an experiment and not really looking into the potential of the system... Once you get enough followers here, you wont be needing to use the bots, its up to you if you do, but for personal experience i can tell you that using them is not profitable at all, mostly like any other business model, spending money on ads is most of the time not profitable at all...

Don't Go

I hope you don't leave. I am a simple man, and the only reason I am on Steemit, is because it is newer. I believe Steemit is more promising than all the sticky A.I. messes that come before it.
When I started reading your replies to this article/content I had no idea that bots were even and issue here.
Funny things is, I saw that vote up tic box, when I was writing one of my first posts and thought, 'why is that there?'. It seem odd to me, and somewhat questionable, or even unethical. It hadn't occurred to me to up vote myself; I've done so since.
Then I noticed that almost everyone up votes themselves, and I was a bit confused as to why.
Now thanks to you, and your eloquent responses or defenses in a few cases, I know.
Although I don't really follow investment/money topics, because I believe monies and most financial instruments are tools used to keep us divided, blinded, and bound (bonds) into slavery. And, I also believe that these concepts serve to form and maintain a perpetual gravitational anomaly of never ending want, which in turn exudes an illusionary fog like environment of loss/scarcity. In fact you may have some insight into this. I believe you hit on this matter when you said that there is a spirit of "...squabbling over bones" perpetuated by those individuals using bots to maintain the Steem Power with the few at the top. Not the best paraphrase, but I hope you understand the spirit of what I am getting at.
I believe this phenomenon that you have seen at work here, is a mirror of everything that is wrong with our "real world". It is virulent in its ability to spread especially with regard to those platforms governed by "Algorithms" and one of the reasons I came to Steemit in the first place; dreams of decentralized gum drops in my head.
Did I mention, I am a simple man.
However, that being said, and in getting to my point.
I wanted you to know, I followed you.
Of course, you may not care, which would sting, but hey I'm a big boy and I'll get over it. I'm not so sure the Steemit community would do so well without you, and more people like you.
Why?
Why would I say this to someone I don't even know.
You didn't fall for the ad hominem attacks from others with reactive rebuttals, like so many others would now a days. Rather you responded with poise, confidence, and even kind hearted redirection. Not only were you collected and kind in your responses, but your responses were rich in content, I actually learned something from your replies to nonsense like 'your full of BS'. This is exactly the kind of substance and character a new platform like this, hell the whole world needs.
Steemit, those who have interacted with you in daily life, and those that may interact with you on this platform in the future would benefit from your contributions; now and in the long run.
I have.
If you do, or if you don't stay, I hope for you all good things.
Above all, thank you.
In Light and Love
Giant Hugs<3<3<3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84