You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Abortion Is a Natural Right

in #abortion8 years ago

People who think it's ok to take another human's life should be encouraged to abort their offspring - lest they pass their values on to the next generation.

And by the same logic, that person I'm competing with for the Next Big Promotion represents a serious risk to my health since without that promotion I won't be able to afford better health care. I need to be able to eliminate that person, because their life constitutes a risk, however small, to my own. It's my body they are threatening after all...

Sort:  

the difference stan is that the people whom you work with do not recide inside your body. Your body is your property.

now if you perceive that group of cells as a "baby with a soul" because of your religious belief that is another story. that's the problems with most religious arguments in here.

lack of basic knowledge of biology. It's like trying to explain to tribes in Africa that magic is bullshit

Without the religious component, every human being is just a group of cells without a soul. That being the case, if one of them should inconvenience my body in any way...

Yes Stan. That's all we are. We don't have a soul. Deal with it. You can believe whatever fairy tale your parents have taught you but don't try to justify it in regards to how other people should live.

I mean be a little objective at least. if there is indeed a soul, your merciful all loving God allows 16.000 children to die everyday from hunger...from which you do nothing...

and you care about abortions? please man. give it up. I am not buying this medieval hypocrisy

I haven't argued any such thing. Read more carefully. Your position is that there is no difference between a fetus and an adult. They both consist of a mass of cells with the same DNA. That is also my position.

The existence of a soul in either of them is an orthogonal issue which has nothing to do with whether the state should protect a mass of cells of any size.

If you can kill one for your convenience you should logically be able to kill the other.

So, if I can rationalize that you represent a threat to my body to any degree at all, I can snuff you out like the mere sack of cells you claim to be. My domain does not end at my skin - you are in the environment I need to sustain life. So I'm morally and ethically fully within my rights to eliminate you - even as a precaution against how you might inadvertently inconvenience me in the future.

Your position is that there is no difference between a fetus and an adult.

My position is that you can't have a say over someone else's body unless that body lives inside of you.

If you can kill one for your convenience you should logically be able to kill the other.

In our case the life living inside another one can kill its host at any time. It threatens its existence.

Pretty straight forward mate.
So to summarise

1-Your body, your business, your property.
2- You can kill anything, anytime, if that thing lives inside of you and threatens your own life.

Sorry but you can't twist the religious component any way you like. In your cult you can practise anything you want. let others be.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63678.85
ETH 2623.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85