Living With Yourself [Netflix Original] - Is it worth the time? steemCreated with Sketch.

in #aaa4 years ago (edited)

I guess I might be a bit late with this review, especially considering that some of my great review mates on Steemit have already written a review of Living With Yourself (@gooddream and @serialfiller). But, maybe you are interested in reading my thoughts about this brand new Netflix original series starring Paul Rudd as well? Well, keep on reading, and I might actually inspire you to watch this show!

Paul Rudd.jpg

What is Living With Yourself all about (some spoilers)

Paul Rudd is playing the character of a man who isn't satisfied with his life. He isn't successful at work, and things aren't really good at home either. A colleague tells him about this SPA salon that made miracles to him and encourages our "hero" to pay the place a visit as well. After some thinking, he decides to go there himself.

One of the funniest moments of the show takes place right there and then when he is lying there in the SPA salon and the "doctors" are shouting in Korean, without the patient understanding a thing. I can easily imagine how frustrating that must be, especially if you have no clue what is really going on and it sounds as if something is going wrong... but you have no clue, simply because the doctors speak a different language. I laughed really hard right there!

Everything looks good after this and Paul Rudd leaves the SPA salon. But, what really happened? They cloned him, and the new and better version is now alive and well, while the original was killed (or was supposed to be killed). And instead of just living a better life, there are now two of the same person out there, and this will lead to all sorts of interesting events.

My honest thoughts about Living With Yourself

I didn't have time to binge-watch the show, so I watched one episode a day for 8 days. And on all these days, I looked forward to seeing how the story would move on. It was always curious about the continuation of the story, but it wasn't addictive in the way that it was really hard to wait. I read a review in an online paper in which they criticized the show for falling in between the humor and the drama category, and I kind of agree to that. Living With Yourself is at times funny, but it isn't a comedy. It is at times a drama, but it cannot at all be compared to show like This Is Us. This might be a strength, but also a weakness.

I like the way Paul Rudd plays the role of both his characters, and it doesn't really annoy me. It can sometimes be annoying with double roles, but normally, I don't have a problem with it. So, when I disliked Gemini Man, it wasn't because of the double role of Will Smith, it was simply because it was a terrible movie. And so I actually enjoyed watching Paul Rudd in both versions of his character.

Liviing with Yourself.jpg

All in all, I had a very good time watching the show. I liked how they twisted the story, and also had a good time seeing everything that happened from the different perspective of the two characters. Actually, that might be a good lesson for some people as they understand that events in life can always be seen from two perspectives.

Final judgment

Living With Yourself is amusing (at times) and it has a story that is interesting. It might not be the best show ever, but if you want some simple and nice TV series to watch on Netflix tonight (and for some more evenings), I believe this can serve you well.

It currently has a 7,4/10 score on IMDb. This is a fairly good score, and I believe it deserves such a score. On Rotten Tomatoes, it has an 85% score (which is better than the IMDb score). In other words, quite a lot of people like this show a lot, and I guess I belong to that category (even though I would have loved for the show to contain more jokes and laughter as I strongly feel as if this series belong in the comedy category and not in the drama category).

Movie URL: https://www.themoviedb.org/tv/81532-living-with-yourself?language=en-US

Rating: AA (where AAA is the best possible score and A is the worst)

Have you seen Living With Yourself? How did you like the show? I would love to hear your thoughts and comments. For even more Netflix related news and articles, do not forget to visit http://netflix.fromabroad.org/

If you liked this review, make sure to follow me here on Steemit/Steempeak for more similar articles in the future!

Sort:  

Hi, TripleA here. Thanks for using the aaa tag and keeping the format. One part, we are using https://themoviedb.org to be able to categorize a movie and without the correct link your review would not be linked correctly to the right movie, which would be a pity.

Please check https://triplea.reviews as you might see that the order of data is different from what you are used at steemit. :)

Welcome to TripleA and wish you a good softlanding.

For a short overview, please have a look at the following article.

https://www.triplea.reviews/aaa/@triple.aaa/triplea-manual-curation-project-how-to

This post is promoted by @tipU voting service under #newsteem rules funded by budapestguide :)
The upvotes are not profitable and 20% of the payment is donated to @steem.dao and other steem projects.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61041.41
ETH 2947.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85