You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem Secret #6: Witnesses Votes Give The Most!

in #witness7 years ago

I have a couple questions I hope you will be able to answer.

I am uncertain if, like upvoting a post, curation of witnesses is also rewarded? I am aware that the witness upvoted is rewarded (and specifically per your explanation), but is there also a curation reward for voting for a witness?

If not, then there should be! As hungry as many folks on Steemit are for rewards, the rewards for voting for witness would drive many to undertake to exercise their responsibility to do so, I think.

Also, as you point out, after assigning our proxy, we are often recalcitrant to change that vote. I have assigned my proxy to a witness I remain confident in (not to disparage you at all @jerrybanfield), so please don't denigrate me for not currently changing that.

But, since we have 30 witness votes, after we have assigned our proxy, are we then able to cast single votes thereafter without withdrawing the balance of our votes from our proxy?

In other words, @aggroed has my proxy. If I cast a witness vote for you, will @aggroed retain the other 29 votes still, or do I then need to cast each of them individually?

I'd appreciate such answer as you can give on this.

Thanks!

Sort:  

@valued-customer thank you very much for asking more about voting as a proxy! Setting a proxy is an all or nothing approach meaning the proxy gets every vote. To combine the benefits of a proxy with manual voting, a proxy can be used to decide on the majority of individual votes while adding, subtracting, or replacing some votes. For example, @aggroed is voting for 30 witnesses none of which are for me while I am voting for his witness.

If you wanted to vote for me and effectively keep @aggroed as a proxy, you could remove the proxy and manually set most of the votes @aggroed has set as seen at https://witstats.steemliberator.com/index and find one to replace using the rankings or whether that witness is voting for @aggroed back.

Thanks for explaining that proxies are all or nothing,

Is there a curation reward for witness votes, like there is for votes on posts?

That is a very good suggestion because currently there is no reward for voting on witnesses!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60793.36
ETH 2909.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64