You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are You Not Entertained? Physical vs. Intellectual Conflict

in #philosophy7 years ago

I love listening to Milton Friedman talk. I was struck by how verbally acrobatic the challenger was in this video. He was one of the more eloquent speakers I've ever heard. But Milton Friedman in his inelegant speech poked holes in his premises and arguments very easily. As Nietzsche pointed out (and others as well), this shows an example of how it's more important to focus on the point of what we are saying, rather than how good it might sound. That's not to say I don't think precise speech is important or that beautiful speech doesn't have its place. It's just not very good when we forsake a good argument in the process.

Sort:  

Yeah, it was funny to hear the crowd give the questioner a roar of applause after his question and then when Milton was done with him it was like, "Oh SNAP!"

You must not have listened to too many speakers before.
The man wasn't a poor communicator, but have you ever heard someone like Terence McKenna speak?
Or Alan Watts, or even Sam Harris, who has been referenced in another comment somewhere on this page.
My god man, one of the most eloquent speakers I've ever heard.
I am flabbergasted.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62187.20
ETH 3051.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79