You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Five Nuggets from Uncle Faust (Episode 4)

in #fivenuggets7 years ago

@getonthetrain I'm doing well myself, just lots of life changes going on at the moment. I thought free time was a precious commodity when I had one child. Now with a second, I'm curious where it all ran off to.

$436 is a steal to go coast to coast on Amtrack. I need to let the kids get a bit older before I do that with my wife. We were thinking of grabbing a sleeper car. I read a blog post a few months back from a guy who grabbed a sleeper car with his girlfriend and ran up the East Coast of the US. It was amazing to discover how much luxury still exists with modern train travel in the age of mass air travel.

I really need to scratch this off my bucket list before hyperloops come into play.

Sort:  

My second child is just 5 months, so I know all about not having time.

I think you have plenty of time before hyperloops take over. You ever read my old article about the precursor to Musk's hyperloop - built in 1870?

https://steemit.com/technology/@getonthetrain/elon-musks-hyperloop-one-its-forgotten-nyc-precursor-from-1870

@getonthetrain I missed that post of yours, and I'm not sure how that happened. Nevertheless, I have given it a belated upvote through this comment. Probably better now because I have a ton more SP than I did back then and STEEM is worth a bit more.

Train rides seem to have a serious luxury component to them in the modern world where time is managed to the minute. I'd love to see the world step back from this insane obsession with hyper-productivity and instant gratification.

Nevertheless, plan to scratch this item off my bucket list in the near future.

Ha, thanks! It is actually my third highest rewarded post ever, was first for a long time.

I don't think the world will step back, but you can and find like-minded people. There are still many places in the world where life goes on at a slow pace. My type of places too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62345.27
ETH 2427.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49