You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Old Dog Asks: Can YOU Succeed On Steemit Simply By Commenting? Meet @eric-boucher

in #commenting7 years ago

I just now started following @eric-boucher (based on this post). I'm new here so examples like this are just the sort of thing I'm looking for as I learn the platform.

I've been unsure about upvoting my own content so I took special note of the fact the Eric upvotes his comments. So far I've seen mixed opinions on self-upvoting. Based on what I'm reading here my current plan is to self-upvote occasionally but highly selectively.

Sort:  

You would do very well to learn from @eric-boucher's success.

As far as up voting your own comment it is controversial. Keep in mind a few points!

1.)Some are investors in Steem and would like to create a return. Can we complain if they do a little self up voting?
2.) There are many on this platform who have given away thousands in SBD or Steem as prizes so the funds are still spread around.
3.) Some up vote there own comment if they think that it's important and they'd lilke it to be more visible.
4.) Some may spend half an hour on a detailed comment should they be allowed to pay themselves for their efforts?

My rule of thumb: I only up vote my own comments if they have already received an up vote from someone else and I never overdo it. I invest a lot of time in communicating with people and trying to answer everyone's comments and so the odd tip is helpful.

You can use this tool to see what percentage of self voting you or others are doing. www.steemreports.com

Also @jerrybanfield wrote an excellent article on this topic.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@jerrybanfield/self-upvoting-by-the-top-100-authors-on-steem

I hope that this info helps!

Thanks for elaborating. Very helpful! I like the policy of self-upvoting only if it's already received a positive vote from someone else.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63576.35
ETH 3066.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80