You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Caturday and Exhausted

in #life7 years ago

Cats are really cuddly, they just like to budge in all the time.

My pump is only 300 with a high flux dialyzer, its OK for me, I might request for a faster pump if I can handle it.
I know only diabetic patients have a flimsy veins that sometimes never get a successful mature fistula.
So you only use a catheter everytime? For how many years now?
Yeah, post about it, its interesting.
My fistula on the operation site grew like a goose egg, I just let it like that,correcting it is very inconvenient for me.

Sort:  

I'm not diabetic, my veins just suck! At 300 pump speed my URR comes back at around 72%, so that's an ok clearance.
I have a central venous catheter and I've had the same one in for about 2 years. If I'm brave enough I'll post a pic sometime.
I guess if your fistula is working, leave it alone.

What's a URR?
2 years with a catheter, wow? it don't get infected?
Here they discourage us to maintain a catheter because it causes chills during dialysis because of infection.
My fistula is a veteran now, been using it for about 14 years now.

URR stands for Urea Reduction Ratio or it's also called Kt/V. It's a measurement of dialysis adequacy. We get this measurement done in our monthly blood work and it just shows how well the dialysis is cleaning our blood. I believe our standards are anything over 68% is considered adequate. If it is less than that then something needs to change in the treatment.
Infections are a smaller risk here. I don't even think I would be comfortable having a central line in the United States. I take great care to keep it clean and covered.
Fourteen years is amazing!

I had endured having a high urea in my system until just recently that I requested for a high flux dialyzer to be used. So I never had that urea smell on my breath after that.
It is also amazing you had a catheter for a long time ha ha. Pretty cool that you never have to get pricked by dialysis needles.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61587.45
ETH 2890.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43