You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Sunrise - Vilamoura, Portugal - Yellow Sky

Bored while wife and grand-daughter watch Sound of Music for the 17th time - ugh! - so posted St. Petersburg Russia worked OK and tried F5 refresh on open map, worked fine. But this one didn't work:

https://steemit.com/distinctivewindows/@brightongreg/distinctive-windows-sydney-opera-house

Thought at first I had corrupted entry when I inadvertently overwrote word 'long' and then re-entered, but I reentered complete string and still no joy. Seems same as happened with the first Portugal post so you may want to check it out.

Sort:  

Hmm, yes, there is something strange going on there, somehow it doesn't even get entered into the database! When it happened to the Portugal one, you just tried again a day later and it worked, right?
We'll be looking into it, really not sure why it is happening at the moment!

Summary of the strange ones:

The first Portugal attempt, at Alte, I didn't retry because you wanted to look at how I entered it. It didn't get into database.

The second Portugal attempt, at Vilamoura, I entered first at Albufeira, then edited the location to Vilamoura - worked both times.

The Sydney attempt was like the first Portugal attempt, except I thought I might have made the entry incorrectly so edited by deleting the entry, closing the page, then re-entering - this one also didn't get into database.

Going to do a new Sydney post now, will see what happens!

Don't ruin your weekend by over-thinking this lol!

Ah this is really good information! So when you edited it, you removed the whole !steemitworldmap etc., right?
Because if that's the case, the script might have acted (in human language) like this: he removed it from his post --> mark this post as a post the user didn't intend to put on the map --> no longer look in this post!
I'll take a look in a few days, exams coming up!

Your timing is impeccable!

If you are referring to the bad Sydney post that's right - entered, when it didn't populate thought I'd made a mistake, deleted the entire worldmap string, re-entered from scratch.

Just wrote a new Sydney Manly story, so entered worldmap info on a clean page, and when I posted it populated right away. Got your reply almost immediately, refreshed my open worldmap, and there it was. Brilliant.

Go study, good luck!

PS - glad you recognize I'm human lol!

Edit just now - hope you don't mind but I showed a friend your map, he's pretty switched on technically and posts a lot so I thought he'd appreciate your work. Probably should have asked before I did, apologies.

Okay, perfect, thanks for the intensive testing so far!
My focus is so off for studying at the moment, so much more interesting stuff in life, oh well, haha!
I don't mind at all, the more people testing it the faster we can get all the bugs out!

First - study because it will pay dividends downstream. I lost my 4th year in university, regret it now (was able to get a 3 year degree in lieu so not a total waste).

Secondly - my friend @tattoodjay likes the app, I'll tell him to populate some of his posts - they are mostly around New York City so he can test making a very very large cluster marker!

I know, I know, it's what everyone is telling me, haha!
Awesome, looking forward to it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17