You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Creation of the 'Irish Blessing.' Magical Moments. Nature's Beauty. Color Challenge. Thursday Green. Original Photography

in #magicalmoments7 years ago (edited)

Thank you so much @stillwatersart. I've seen some fantastic works created using ice. One of my favorite artists is Mo Devlin. You can see his work HERE.

My journey into using ice as a medium began when I wanted to verify the energetic properties of a substance called 'orgonite' that I'd experimented with and then constructed a sculpture with. Orgonite is basically different metals combined with crytals and bonded in clear resin.

It was said, that if you held a piece of 'orgonite' next to a glass of water for a few hours, the energy imparted into the water from the 'orgonite' could be seen as lines emanating from a spherical core, that formed as the water was frozen. I did this experiment and it worked beautifully.

But then I found that water without the 'orgonite' placed next to it also formed the same beautiful core at the centre when frozen.

In my search for further explanation, I came upon Bo's work and it was love at first sight.

My first works were similar to Bo's ie single flowers suspended in ice: Only not on as big a scale. And my own bent is to work with actually arranging my materials in a similar way to collage ~ And building up layers of the differnt elements. Has been a fascinating journey.

It's not unlike using layers with image manipulation ~ Which I REALLY love ~ And was why I was so attracted to your wonderful work. Lovely to connect with you now and I truly look forward to seeing your work as you share it.

MAGICAL moments LIME ORCHIDS.png

Sort:  

Thanks for the thoughtful reply! I checked out MO's work and it is fascinating. I do love the bubble trails.
I am familiar with orgonite but haven't experimented with it for any kind of energy work yet.
I am upvoting this comment because it could be a post on its own. So much information!

Pleasure @stillwaterart. Yes, the bubble trails in his frozen flower works are incredibly beautiful. He explains this phenomenon as oxygen being released from the plants as they freeze.

While I was making the sculpture using orgonite I had to experiment a lot with resins. The polyester resin that most people use to get the most beautiful clear glass like effects is so highly toxic. Once set, it's no longer toxic, but it didn't take long for me to decided not to use it and find another way. I found a plastic resin that was said to be not as toxic, but it yellows with age.

Once I'd finished the sculpture knew I had to find something else again. Some people use beeswax. Proponants claim you get the same energetic effects ~ But you don't get the same visual beauty. As I've been wanting both, I'm still on the 'search' for an eco friendly resin. I feel its possible ~ In the meantime I've been really happy making assemblages and ephemeral art pieces and now starting to actually draw again. 🦋

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62763.51
ETH 2579.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72